Skip main navigation

Direct link to content

Parliament elected the Speaker and Deputy Speakers

Published 2/1/2022 2:00 PM

The speakership from left: Juho Eerola, Matti Vanhanen and Antti Rinne.​​

Parliament elected the Speaker and Deputy Speakers

Parliament elected its Speaker and Deputy Speakers for the 2022 parliamentary session on Tuesday, 1 February. 

Matti Vanhanen (Centre Party Parliamentary Group) was elected as the Speaker of Parliament. Antti Rinne (Social Democratic Parliamentary Group) was elected the deputy speaker and Juho Eerola (The Finns Parliamentary Group) the second deputy speaker.

The opening of the 2022 parliamentary session will take place on Wednesday, 2 February. ​

The Speaker directs parliamentary work together with the Speaker's Council in accordance with the provisions in the Constitution and Parliament's Rules of Procedure. The Speaker is assisted by two Deputy Speakers.​

​​Further information about the Speaker and Deputy Speakers​